The Gymnast

Dear Readers,

For this week’s article I am going to interview somebody that could be considered as a fresh dancing blood at AUBG. Dancing rhythmic gymnastics, jazz modern, modern dancing and contemporary, she is a freshman student majoring in Business administration and economics; her name is Veronika Shishova.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Veronika started dancing at the age of 4. She, unlike most people I interviewed yet, did not start dancing as a dancer. She was instead a gymnast. For her younger years, she participated in a lot of gymnastic competitions across Russia and its neighboring countries. That allowed her at a very young age to visit a lot of cities but as well. She learnt to be comfortable performing in front of a large audience. She became so good at it that she was named master of sports.

One of her most memorable moment was when she won her first international competition. In her words:

“I got the first place at the age of 7 and I was surprised because I didn’t expect that, the feeling of winning was astonishing”

She ended her gymnastic career when she was 15 because of injuries to hear knees. She then decided to explore other type of dances. She joined a modern dance crew called Majestic and she went to various dancing competitions with them. One of the most notable one was the international dance Olympiad held in Moscow. She participate in 2 of them from which she finished 2nd and 3rd.

Upon joining AUBG, she joined the AUBG Dance Crew. She performed with the dance crew in different AUBG Events.

“The atmosphere in the Dance Crew is closer to what I’m use to”

What motivated Veronika to dance? Interestingly her sister was a gymnast too and she wanted to do the same sport as her sister. Thus at a very young age she joined a sport center to train and acquire new skills.

So why does Veronika dance?

“I dance because it gives me the feeling of freedom, I can feel free, I can forget about anything, even if I have problems, after practice, those problems do not seem too important to me (…) and everything is better when you are dancing.”

You will most probably see Veronika dancing for the next 4 years with the AUBG Dance Crew because dancing is a part of her life.

That’s all for today. Don’t forget to like my facebook page and follow me on twitter.

 

5 thoughts on “The Gymnast

  1. Love this story and glad you have a new dancing fiend as part of the Dance Crew. But i do have a question about something you wrote. “She became so good at it that she was named master of sports.” What does that mean and how do you get that award?

    Like

Leave a comment